Management Functions

Authentication Functions

The machine communicates with LDAP servers using LDAPv3.
UTF-8 is the supported character encoding used when the text data is transmitted between the machine and an LDAP server.

Firewall Settings

Up to 16 IP addresses (or ranges of IP addresses) can be specified for both IPv4 and IPv6.
The packet filters described in this section control communications over TCP, UDP, and ICMP.
Up to 32 MAC addresses can be specified.


IPSec that is supported by the machine conforms to RFC2401, RFC2402, RFC2406, and RFC4305.
Operating system
Windows Vista
Windows 7
Windows 8
Windows 8.1
Windows 10
Connection mode
Transport mode
Key exchange protocol
IKEv1 (main mode)
Authentication method
Pre-shared key
Digital signature
Hash algorithm (and key length)
HMAC-SHA2 (256 bits or 384 bits)
Encryption algorithm (and key length)
AES-CBC (128 bits, 192 bits, or 256 bits)
Key exchange algorithm/group (and key length)
Diffie-Hellman (DH)
Group 1 (768 bits)
Group 2 (1024 bits)
Group 14 (2048 bits)
Hash algorithm
Encryption algorithm (and key length)
AES-CBC (128 bits, 192 bits, or 256 bits)
Hash algorithm/encryption algorithm (and key length)
AES-GCM (128 bits, 192 bits, or 256 bits)
Hash algorithm
IPSec supports communication to a unicast address (or a single device).
The machine cannot use both IPSec and DHCPv6 at the same time.

Registration of Keys and Certificates

If you install a key or CA certificate from a computer, make sure that they meet the following requirements:
Key: PKCS#12*1
CA certificate: X.509 DER/PEM
File extension
Key: ".p12" or ".pfx"
CA certificate: ".cer" or ".pem"
Public key algorithm
(and key length)
RSA (512 bits, 1024 bits, 2048 bits, 4096 bits)
DSA (1024 bits, 2048 bits, 3072 bits)
ECDSA (P256, P384, P521)
Certificate signature algorithm
RSA: SHA-1, SHA-256, SHA-384*2, SHA-512*2, MD2, MD5
ECDSA: SHA-1, SHA-256, SHA-384, SHA-512
Certificate thumbprint algorithm
*1Requirements for the certificate contained in a key are pursuant to CA certificates.
*2RSA-SHA-384 and RSA-SHA-512 are available only when the RSA key length is 1024 bits or more.
The machine does not support use of a certificate revocation list (CRL).

Definition of "Weak Encryption"

When <Prohibit Use of Weak Encrypt.> is set to <On>, the use of the following algorithms is prohibited.
MD4, MD5, SHA-1
Common key cryptosystem
Public key cryptosystem
RSA encryption (512 bits/1024 bits), RSA signature (512 bits/1024 bits), DSA (512 bits/1024 bits), DH (512 bits/1024 bits)
Even when <Prohibit Weak Encryp. Key/Cert.> is set to <On>, the hash algorithm SHA-1, which is used for signing a root certificate, can be used.